Generating a culture of peace takes practice!

If you have taken my classes in Generating a Culture of Peace, or if you are familiar with Nonviolent Communication and would like to learn more about Focusing, join us in exploring how to use these practices in our daily lives.

  • Each session will have an exercise that helps understand the theory of Nonviolent Communication and then a practice session combining Focusing, Listening and NVC.
  • Share your experiences and questions in group discussions.
  • Meet people from all over the world who are interested in practicing the combination of Focusing and NVC.

Connecting: Connect with the group on your computer or smartphone via Zoom, a free video conference service. We will be able to see and hear each other. All you need is a strong, stable internet connection and a quiet place to connect from. The link to Zoom  will be sent when you sign up.

Class dates: Tuesdays, July 10 and 24, August 7 and 21, September 4 and 18, October 2, 16 and 30, 2018

Class times:

8 p.m. Middle East
7 p.m. Eastern Europe
6 p.m. Central Europe
5 p.m. UK, Ireland and Portugal
1 p.m. Maritime Canada, Argentina and Chile
12 noon US Eastern
11 a.m. Central US, Canada and México
10 a.m. Mountain US, Canada and Central America
9 a.m. Pacific

If this time doesn’t work for your time zone, please suggest some other dates and times, and we can see if others are interested.
Find your time zone at https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

Facilitator Beatrice Blake: I’ve been a Certified Focusing Trainer since 2000. I originally studied Focusing with Robert Lee, Joan Klagsbrun and Neil Friedman and went on to study Thinking at the Edge with its founder, Dr. Eugene Gendlin, and with Kye Nelson, Nada Lou and Evelyn Fendler Lee.

Peggy Smith was my first Nonviolent Communication teacher 2006. When I arrived in El Salvador in 2007, people were more attracted to NVC than Focusing, so I have used it as a doorway to teaching Focusing for the last 11 years. I am not a Certified NVC trainer.

Nonviolent Communication has given me confidence in dealing with conflict in my personal life. I love hearing examples of how it smooths and heals the lives of my students. NVC is a theory developed by Marshall Rosenberg, PhD. It teaches that all human beings have needs, and that our needs are beautiful because they motivate us to live fully. Anger arises when our needs are unmet. NVC teaches us to identify our needs and to express them clearly to others. NVC can be deepened and enhanced by getting the felt sense of situations, as we do in Focusing.

Cost: US$30 for one session, US$155 for 6 sessions or US$200.00 for 9 sessions. Sign up below by indicating the number of sessions you want on the drop-down menu. You will then be taken to PayPal. If you would prefer to pay by check, please let me know by using the contact form below.


Number of Sessions



For any questions please use the comment form below.